Team Pakistan-2 (Babar Masih and Zulfiqar Qadir) won the Asian Team Snooker Championship for the year 2019. In the final they defeated Team India-1 (Pankaj Advani, Laxman Rawat and Aditya Mehta) in the deciding frame 3-2 to claim the winners’ trophy.

In first two frames, the Pakistani players played exceptionally well and curtailed both the Indian players in singles round on score of 1 point only (79-01 and 71-01) to enjoy 2-0 lead over India.

In that situation, the combination of Pankaj Advani and Laxman Rawat played good safety and limited scoring shots to clinch the doubles frame scoring 58-18. After that the Pankaj Advani dominated fourth frame (reverse single) against the Pakistan debutant Zulfiqar Qadir and won that 67-39 to send Laxman Rawat for the deciding frame against Babar Masih.

It was crucial moment for Pakistan as they got down to decider from a handsome lead of 2-0. However, Pakistan’s Babar Masih applied his experience and planted snooker in the very beginning and obtained first 12 points. Once he got right position, he went for scoring and established good lead.

Though Laxman got a chance but after scoring 9 points he missed out and Babar dominated all across to win the title for Pakistan.

Team Thailand (Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon, Noppadon Sangnil) and Team Myanmar (Ko Htet, Win Ko Ko) shared the joint bronze trophy.

You may also like

ACBS – Annual General Meeting 2019
India to meet Pakistan in the final of Asian Team Snooker 2019
Pakistan enters in the final of Asian Team Snooker 2019